top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy M

Blog 2

Thursday was our EMC midterm. We finished presentations and it was okay. It's good to be able to rest a little bit. I really enjoyed listening to other people's presentations. Through the last minute preparation and practicing it was nice to be able to grow closer and know more about the other EMC'ers.

In my midterm reflection I mentioned that I might want to revise my thesis. I say this because (even coming from a personal standpoint) I kind don't agree with the current thesis. I am not really sure why I completely agreed with the book. The book says that introverts can stretch but they have a breaking point and that is why they can't completely turn into an extrovert. But quite a few people (during the midterm) mentioned that they didn't know where to place themselves on the spectrum because of how much they have changed on the spectrum. Including myself. I was an extrovert in my elementary school years. Now, I am an introvert.

I want to see if research might also disagree with the current thesis. If not, then I guess there are a lot of outliers. Which also shouldn't be too surprising because personality is hard to define and to keep within a certain boundary.

Either way, I don't completely agree with the answer to the thesis now.

I think big events can change people's personality drastically, meaning even switching sides on the spectrum. Or maybe we aren't completely honest and we may still be the introvert/extrovert from before... Then, in that case, the current thesis is right?

One of the people said she didn't know where to place herself on the spectrum. Because she was an introvert before and now she is an extrovert. Because of her work. That made her "stretch". She says work has changed her personality. Even when she is home alone now, she wants to be around other people. This could be a change of spots on the spectrum. If she had said she was extroverted at work, but still an introvert, that would be an introvert stretching him or herself, or an extroverted introvert, or an introvert that adapts to their environment (well). But she said even when she is home alone now, she wants to be around other people. Is that a change?

I think I have similar story, but the opposite.

I think I/we have to rethink. It is nature vs. nurture. And I don't think we should (almost completely) exclude nurture.

I think nurture does have a big impact. It's hard to argue right now with the Kagan theory. Specifically the "second part" of the Kagan theory. That your introversion/extroversion stays with you to your adulthood. I could be wrong. But I want to rethink. I am not sure if that alone can answer the thesis question.


5 things/people I am grateful for:

-Family, Hana, church and community, Noah, Micah, Psalm 39, 1 Corinthians 15:58, Romans 1:16, Dilni, Joanna, Melody, (more others at school), EMC'ers

-Alan

-Alyssa

-Mr. Bott

-Ms. Gergen


Stay warm :)

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6/1/19

It has been quite a long time since I have blogged. I have worked on my speech for EMC for a bit, I have an outline that I would like to...

4/13/19

I just finished my EMC reflection. As we are nearing the end of the year, I hope that maybe we could possibly incorporate and put in...

4/5/19

Plan for the final paper draft: -Meet thursday (hopefully) at round table -Gather information -Final paper topic: Confidence and finding...

Comments


bottom of page