top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy M

6/1/19

It has been quite a long time since I have blogged.

I have worked on my speech for EMC for a bit, I have an outline that I would like to follow (of course it is not final and there are edits to be made) and I have practiced. I timed it and it is around 8 minutes. It is not very smooth and I would like to work on transitions. I did not get the chance to practice with Alyssa over the weekend which is okay. I would have liked to be able to do more a more personal part in the project, but it is okay.


I am not sure what my five slides will be.


This is what my speech outline looks like (I have made changes since last time):

I will be staring off with a story, but that story may change. I would like to start with a story and come back to it at the end, that is ideal.

Greeting/Introduction

-Summer story, thought more about personality traits vs personality types

--> Our school offers a program called EMC and I wanted to study personality types


-What is introversion/extroversion? (Include Cain’s research)

--> Introverts: People who find energy from resting and spending time alone

--> Extroverts: People who find energy from spending time with others

--> Spectrum

--> Stereotypes of introverts and extroverts


-Introduce Rubber band theory

--> Question: Is it possible to stretch and step outside of our comfort zone

(MANY LAYERS (to the question))


-Introversion/Extroversion could be more genetic than we once thought…

--> Kagan’s theory about being lowly or highly reactive (even from birth, Kagan studied that there are already predetermined personality traits & the environment has not done much to shape the babies’ personalities yet.)


Main point: GENETICS ARE IMPORTANT BUT I BELIEVE IF WE ARE PASSIONATE & WE VALUE SOMETHING, WE ARE ABLE TO STEP OUTSIDE OF OUR COMFORT ZONE

--> Youth group small group sharing, sharing my testimony with the congregation, presentation about my mission trip to the congregation, sharing and preparing and leading bible studies


- Introverts/Extroverts as leaders

--> Usually when we think about the leaders in the world, we think about extroverts. And extroverts do typically rise as leaders more often. They enjoy the social interaction (and humans are social by nature) and they are usually more confident

--> But some of our leaders are introverts, Rosa Parks, Bill Gates, J.K. Rowling, Warren Buffett, Eleanor Roosevelt

--> But both groups of people have different individual qualities that are good leadership qualities

** Introverts can also be good leaders, introverts tend to think and solve problems with thoroughness before they act, and they can be thoughtful leaders, and good at making decisions, they enjoy being productive, which is beneficial to a team

** Introverts are good at building meaningful relationships, (though it may be with a few people) with others, within a team, it can bring the group closer and make work more productive


I BELIEVE THESE PEOPLE HAVE “OVERCOME” BARRIERS TO REACH THE POINT THEY GOT TO (making an impact on the world), I AM SURE THERE WERE TRIALS BUT BECAUSE THEY VALUED THEIR PURPOSE, OR THEIR IDEAS, THEY WERE WILLING TO, AND DID STEP OUTSIDE OF THEIR COMFORT ZONES


“The next time there is an opportunity to step outside of your comfort zone (to rise as a leader or to seek and build more meaningful relationships), I believe there are good things that can come out of it.”

It’s worth “overcoming” barriers or just reaching out and stepping outside of your comfort zones for the relationships that you may create or build.


Thank you & Introduction of next person


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4/13/19

I just finished my EMC reflection. As we are nearing the end of the year, I hope that maybe we could possibly incorporate and put in something that is more personal? Like an experiment or a survey, ma

4/5/19

Plan for the final paper draft: -Meet thursday (hopefully) at round table -Gather information -Final paper topic: Confidence and finding something that can help you to move out of your comfort zone wi

3/21/19

March SDA. I will probably do a written piece on how introversion and faith are related/connected.

bottom of page